I just finished making my online art gallery, PorcelainRhapsody. It is a strange feeling to have art for sale, some of which I have never shown anyone. Most of my art is emotional and/or autobiographical and so it is almost impossible to sum it up or show it in an online setting, and the viewer would need to meet me and see it in person to fully understand it. Ultimately though it depends on the person, because everyone views everything according to their own perceptions and tastes. Some people are so perceptive to visual imagery that they see a picture of my art online and comment or email me with insights which let me know that they understand. When this kind of connection happens it is like thinking that you are the only one awake with your light on in your room and then going outside and seeing the whole town dark, and then a light comes on in someone’s room because they are awake thinking, just like you. I feel less alienated now and more encouraged than ever before.

My life has changed a lot this year, because I have been living on my own and going to school. This has filled me with confidence, not necessarily because of the book knowledge I have absorbed but because I have realized that I am capable of more than I thought I was, and I grow more confident in myself all the time. The only thing holding me back before was lack of confidence in my own abilities and decisions. This is still a daily struggle for me and I have to keep reminding myself that I am doing things my way, in the best way I know how, and to trust my intuition in all situations. School and growing older has also made me realize that I have studied Art and Art History my entire life, subconsciously. I often viewed it as a hobby, but then I realized that I was consuming Art History books and comics and making art constantly, whenever I got a spare moment. It started as something to do when I felt something inside of myself that I wanted to express, but now it has become my life from the moment I wake up in the morning. I have so many ideas that I have folders on my computer full of them, just waiting for the right time. I am glad my computer has provided me with new ways of communication and inspiration.

