I was really excited to go to Albany today for the Oregon Newspaper Publishers Association awards with the rest of my co-workers at PSU Vanguard. Our newspaper won in a lot of different categories and it was interesting to see all of the different student publications in Oregon. I think the Vanguard is really unique for having good photography, writing, editing and design on a smaller budget than some of the other schools in Oregon.

I think it’s cool that they chose an illustration that I did about domestic violence awareness, something that is really important to me. When I sat down to do this illustration I really tried to put my own emotional response to this issue into it, something I’m not really able to do with every illustration.

I love doing these editorial illustrations and being a part of getting information that students care about to them, and I feel inspired now to make them even more relevant to the articles.

